Looking into the future – can be scary !

I’ve been adding a few new items to the Bucket List over the past week, and I have to admit it felt a little scary putting ‘to be completed by‘ dates far into the future.

Long Time

Long Time

The above is taken from my Run a marathon on each Continent in the world, which I’ve said I’d like to complete by 1st Jan 2022. I’ll be coming 47 at that point and just under 3/4 of the way through my 40s.

An even scarier thought than doing the run or coming 47? Will I still even be here?

And then the fear really kicks in. Not about being up for the challenge or coming 50, rather will I actually still be here to attempt some of these challenges,  especially if I think back at how quickly time as flown by. I can still remember certain points in my life quite vividly, New Years Eve 1999 is a very good example as it marked a major date in a number of people’s lives. And yet, in what seems like a blink of an eye, 15 years has passed.

The long unknown path ahead in life can be scary

The long unknown path ahead in life can be scary

In 15 years time I’ll be coming 56  – that’s like Grandpa old, right?

It is one of the reasons I’ve decided to take control of my life right now. The past 40 years are pretty much gone and if I do mange to squeeze another 40 years out of the ride I want to make them memorable. I want to hold things close which matter and let those things, which don’t bring value, go. We don’t know how long we have left and even those goals which I hope to have completed by the end of this year may not come to pass for any number of health reasons, or even death.

I sometimes catch myself, over a morning coffee, looking out into the world, watching people go about their daily lives. I have found myself, at times, wanting to scream at the top of my voice at everyone for seemingly forgetting about the fact that one day they won’t be here. It’s probably a good thing that our brain seems to be wired to allow us to forget about the inevitable, and while that allows us to maintain some level of normality, if we are not careful we can be consumed by daily life. We can get so caught up in the daily grind that we forget the privilege we have been given through our very lives.

I, for one, want to try and make the most of that privilege in everything I do, even right down to the simplest of things. I’ve no doubt that the future, as I focus on it, will continue to be a scary place, which is why I’m looking forward to trying to fill it with as many experiences as possible in whatever time I have left.

Leave a Reply

