One Last Ride on the Zombie Train

I’m sitting here staring out at several pairs of what seem like soulless eyes looking, not back at me, but right through me. Staring off into the distance. Eyes glazed over. Dreaming other men’s dreams.

No, not the opening scene from an apocalyptic movie but the 6.45am to London Kings Cross


For the past 15 years I’ve been riding this train (both physically and metaphorically speaking) and for a while I too was staring out into the void, living other men’s dreams.

But not today !

Today I’m choosing to chase my own dreams. Today is the last time I ride the Zombie train to nowhere.  And just like a good Zombie movie there are , as a look closer, pockets of The Resistence. Those whose eyes are burning. Those who know there is more to life than being a Zombie.

It’s time to stand up. It’s time to live.

Leave a Reply

